Colorado Fishing License
Don’t get fined or penalized for fishing without a license. State law requires a permit to fish in all bodies of water. FishingLicense.org will help simplify the process of obtaining your license by providing you with all the information you need to complete your license application with the department of wildlife. Our concierge services provide a step-by-step checklist to get licensed, along with additional, value-added services.
FishingLicense.org will help simplify the process of obtaining your license by providing you with all the information you need to complete your license application. Our concierge services provide a step-by-step checklist to get licensed, along with additional, value-added services.
New Fishing License
Both residents and nonresidents who enjoy the sport of fishing can apply for a license to fish in Colorado. Various licenses, such as lifetime licenses and annual licenses, are available – but the terms and fees for each may vary. Military members and seniors may also be eligible to receive discounts, and a fishing license replacement can easily be obtained at a CO Wildlife and Parks location. Read on to learn more about how you can get a fishing license.
Colorado Resident Fishing License
Whether you would like to fish or take fish, the state of CO makes it mandatory to carry a fishing license if you are 16 years of age of older. The good news is that if you are a resident of Colorado (must live in the state for at least six months), you can buy a fishing license for half the cost of a nonresident license. The Colorado Parks and Wildlife allows interested applicants to obtain a resident fishing license by simply presenting a few essential items that include the below:
- Proof of Colorado residency such as a utility bill
- Proof of your Social Security Number
- An up-to-date photo ID, such as your state driving license
- Payment for a Habitat Stamp (which is required for all individuals between the ages of 18 to 64)
- Payment for a resident fishing license
CO fishing licenses can be purchased online, at a Parks and Wildlife office, through a licensed agent or by phone.
Colorado Nonresident Fishing License
If Colorado is not where you reside, you can still fish or take fish in the state, as long as you apply for the appropriate non resident fishing license. The process is similar to obtaining a resident license, although it has one notable difference: You are not required to present proof of residency. Keep in mind that you will need to show a current photo ID, proof of your Social Security Number and payment for a Habitat Stamp, in addition to the regular licensing fees.
Renew a Fishing License
In the state of CO, fishing licenses are good for a 12-month period, specifically between April 1 to March 31. Once your licensing expires, you will need to purchase another annual license if you would like to continue fishing in Colorado waters.
Colorado Replacement Fishing License
If your license to fish is currently lost or damaged, you can easily apply for a fishing license replacement by completing a specific affidavit, and setting aside payment for any necessary fees. Learn more about replacing your Colorado fishing license in the “How to Become a Licensed Fisherman eBook.”
Colorado Senior Fishing License
Residents who are 64 years of age or older can obtain a fishing license in Colorado for one single dollar: 25 cents goes toward the search and rescue fee, while the remaining 75 cents is the Wildlife Management Education Fund surcharge. However, if you are a senior with low income who would like to get a lifetime fishing license, you can do so at no cost to you.
Colorado Military Fishing License
Colorado allows military members to enjoy a wide range of fishing benefits, including the option to purchase a fishing license at a resident fee, and the freedom to fish in the state without a license – as long as they are on temporary leave. For the latter, you must have your leave papers on hand when fishing. Take note that military family members can also apply for a CO license to fish at the resident rate.
Colorado Lifetime Fishing License
As previously mentioned, first-time applicants between the ages of 18 to 64 are required to purchase a Habitat Stamp. If you would like to purchase a lifetime fishing license instead, you will also need to buy a lifetime stamp to carry on your person. The only exception to this is if you obtained a free lifetime license to fish, per meeting the low income requirements. Take note that lifetime licenses are not available for purchase online or over the phone. To complete this process, make a visit to your local Colorado Wildlife and Parks office or have an in-person meeting with a licensing agent.
Fishing License Fees
Fees for fishing licenses in Colorado may vary, depending on whether you are getting a resident license to fish or a non resident license to fish, among other factors. The cost for a fishing license also fluctuates for an annual license and a lifetime license. For more information, check out the “ How to Become a Licensed Fisherman eBook .”