California Commercial Fishing Licenses
Don’t get fined or penalized for fishing without a license. State law requires a permit to fish in all bodies of water. FishingLicense.org will help simplify the process of obtaining your license by providing you with all the information you need to complete your license application with the department of wildlife. Our concierge services provide a step-by-step checklist to get licensed, along with additional, value-added services.
FishingLicense.org will help simplify the process of obtaining your license by providing you with all the information you need to complete your license application. Our concierge services provide a step-by-step checklist to get licensed, along with additional, value-added services.
If you are interested in fishing commercially in the state of California, then you must buy a commercial fishing license within the state. Regardless of whether you are a resident commercial fishermen, a non-resident or a commercial fishing business, a standard sport fishing license is not enough. So, if you are considering the prospects of fishing commercially in California, take a look at the sections below to learn all about the state’s commercial fishing licenses.
California Resident Commercial Fishing License
Any resident who is at least 16 years of age and is going to be fishing commercially in CA (i.e. for commercial purposes such as selling fresh-caught fish) must obtain a resident commercial fishing license. To obtain this credential, you must fill out the Commercial Fishing License Worksheet, which you can learn more about in the “How to Become a Licensed Fisherman eBook.”
California Nonresident Commercial Fishing License
If you are not a resident of the state of California, are at least 16 years old and are going to be fishing commercially, you must apply for a non-resident commercial fishing permit. To obtain this credential, you will have to complete a Commercial Fishing License Worksheet and pay the applicable fee for your license. You can learn more about this form in the “How to Become a Licensed Fisherman eBook.”
Renew California Commercial Fishing License
Just like standard sport fishing licenses in California, commercial fishing permits in the state also expire. And when they do, it is your responsibility to renew your credentials. Fortunately, the state of California has made the commercial fishing license renewal process as easy as possible by allowing license holders to renew their credentials online through the Department of Fish and Wildlife website. The only thing to keep in mind is that you will have to pay a non-refundable five percent handling fee if you choose to use this method instead of paying an in person visit to a local licensing office.
Replace California Commercial Fishing License
In order to obtain a commercial fishing license replacement in the state of California, you must visit a local Department License Sales Office and pay the applicable fee. Unfortunately, you cannot apply to replace your credentials online, by mail, by phone or through any other means.
Senior California Commercial Fishing License
In the state of California, there is one commercial fishing exemption that all seniors should be aware of, and it concerns salmon fishermen. As of April, 2015, if you are 70 years old, you do not need to obtain a commercial fishing salmon stamp in order to fish for salmon.
California Commercial Fishing License Fees
One of the most important factors when it comes to buying a commercial fishing license is cost. So there is no question that you should take a look at the various fees associated with obtaining commercial credentials in the state of California. In any case, regardless of the commercial fishing permit you are thinking of getting, it is most important to remember that prices will vary from one license to the next. The official range of fees in California goes from $43 for certain non-restrictive permits all the way up to $13,092.50.
For more information, consult the “How to Become a Licensed Fisherman eBook.”